RSS

Movie-a-Day: The Rocky Horror Picture Show (1975)

07 Jan

RockyHorrorPictureShow

Far be it from me to complain about a movie that makes so many people happy. I’ve seen The Rocky Horror Picture show back in and out of the theater, and truth be told, I’m not sure I get it. It’s a fun musical, kind of a Stanley Donen picture by way of Addams Family about a square couple who stop by a weird old house when their car breaks down. I see the color. I see the spectacle. I see the production. I see the great performance by Tim Curry. What I don’t see is the point.

Having been in the theater with this movie, I’m obliged to report that I can see the fun people have, but away from the theater I can see also that the movie isn’t much without the theater experience. In fact, I find the movie a bit dull. Maybe that’s not the point. This isn’t a movie that you become engrossed in. It makes a nice colorful backdrop to the party going on in the theater. As a movie by itself it doesn’t really work all that well.

 
 

Leave a Reply

 
